Paul Playdon, spyfi writer, dies

Paul Playdon (1943-2023), when he was a child actor, in a memorable episode of Alfred Hitchcock Presents in 1957, The Glass Eye with Jessica Tandy.

Paul Playdon, who began his show business career as a child actor, then transitioned to being a television writer-producer, has died at 80.

His death was reported on Facebook by a friend, Danny Biderman in a detailed post. Biederman has an extensive collection of props from various examples of spy entertainment.

Playdon, born in the U.K., had been a child actor appearing in Alfred Hitchcock Presents, in the 1957 episode The Glass Eye. Other performers in the episode included Jessica Tandy and William Shatner.

Playdon moved to being a writer-producer. His work covered a number of television series, including Hawaii Five-O, Cannon, The Wild Wild West and The Magician.

Perhaps his biggest television impact was on the original Mission: Impossible series. He was brought on as story editor after ace M:I writer-producers William Read Woodfield and Allan Balter exited the show after a dispute with creator-executive producer Bruce Geller.

Playdon, with his story editor hat, had to revise scripts. His M:I input as writer also included a two-part story as well as the show’s only three-part story. Bits of both adventures showed up in the 2011 Mission: Impossible — Ghost Protocol movie.

8 Responses

  1. RIP, Paul Playdon.

    “Playdon, born in the U.K., had been a child actor appearing in Alfred Hitchcock Presents, in the 1957 episode The Glass Eye. Other performers in the episode included Jessica Tandy and WILLIAM SHATNER.”

    Just wanted to bring to everybody’s attention that “The Shat” is still a working actor at age 93, and one of the last of that generation of 1950’s stars still around, along with Clint Eastwood, Eve Marie Saint, Rita Moreno, Barbara Eden, Earl Holliman, and Robert Wagner. These stars are icons, and we should appreciate them now while we still can.

    Glenn in Brooklyn, NY.

  2. Thank you for sharing this sad news about the late great Paul. He contributed to so many of our favorite shows, even the “Escape” pilot!

  3. The Glass Eye is one of the best episodes of Alfred Hitchcock Presents.

  4. I knew Paul and his parents in 1960. We lost touch but I never forgot him. He had been on my mind for the last several weeks. I knew something was wrong. I wish I had been able to talk to him. He was my first love, so much to say, but I’m sure he will be missed by many.

  5. Is there any info re funeral service for Paul Playdon? If so, where & when.

  6. I don’t know. I wish I did.

  7. Does anyone know when & where Paul is to be buried or if there will be any service?
    I knew him when we were teenagers, in Glendale, Ca. I also knew his parents.

  8. I don’t know, unfortunately.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.